The Cyprus Sailing Federation honored the best of 2015

Η βραδιά των τιμώνThe Cyprus Sailing Federation honored the best of 2015

The Fair Play Auditorium in the Olympic House in Nicosia was packed in favour of the honoured athletes and clubs.The annual awards of the top sailors and clubs of the season 2015 organized by the Cyprus Sailing Federation, took place on Wednesday March 2nd.

The President of the Cyprus Sailing Federation, Giannos Photiou, in his speech referred to the activity of the year 2015 with particular initial reference to the fact that Pavlos Kontides in Laser Standard class and Andreas Cariolou in RSX class represent Cyprus Sailing the Rio Olympics next summer. He wished every success

He also mentioned the intense and competitive presence of the Cyprus Sailing in international level with two very specific objectives. The first objective is to improve the young sailors through intense competition conditions. Due to specific reasons (size, number of athletes) they do not have the opportunity to receive this experience in Cyprus. Second objective is the international distinction. CYSAF feels satisfied in achieving both objectives.
He was also referred to the high level presence of Pavlos Kontides. He took second position in the ISAF World Cup held in Abu Dabi last October and third place, ISAF World Cup held in China last December

More international success for Cyprus Sailing. Onisiforos Neofytou and Nikolas Protopapas performed excellently at the Youth Sailing World Championships held in Langkawi, Malaysia last Decemner . The duo took seventh place overall in the SL16 class.
He also referred to the rest international participation.

The U17 420 class, at the 420 & 470 Junior European Championships. The event was staged in the Bulgarian city of Burgas between the 8th and 15th of August 2015.

The 2015 Laser Standard Men U21 and Radial Women U21 World Championships, held in Medemblik of Netherlands, between the 17th and 22nd of August 2015. They participated in the Laser Standard Men Under21 class.

The European Laser 4.7 Youth Championship & Trophy 2015 in Poland between the 19th and 24th of July.
The Optimist World Championship, in Poland between the 27th August and 4th of September.

Mr. Photiou also spoke about the ongoing efforts made by the Federation for training and education of people who either work or volunteer in Cyprus Championships, through seminars and special courses with the support and cooperation of the Cyprus Sports Organization, the Cyprus Olympic Committee and ISAF.

The national Judges seminar took place between the 1st and 3rd of May in the sea area of the Cyprus Sports Organization Sailing Center in Limassol. The seminar was organized by the Cyprus Sailing Federation with the support of the Cyprus Sports Organization and the International Sailing Federation (ISAF).
Pavlos Kontides and Andreas Cariolou hosted training camps in February, and March respectively. The teams prepared in the island. Cyprus has become a popular sailing destination

He expressed his thanks to the Cyprus Sports Organization, Cyprus Olympic Committee, and the main sponsor OPAP for their support.
The president also thanked the chairmen and members of the Board of the Nautical and Sailing Clubs, for their cooperation. He thanked and congratulated the winners and non winners, athletes, coaches and parents of athletes for supporting the efforts of their children.
Gharalambos Lottas (Cyprus Olympic Committee secretary) and Philipos Sofokleous (Cyprus Sports Organization Deputy Director General ), spoke at the event.
George Chrysostomou, Kikis Paraskevas (Cyprus Olympic Comiteee Executive Counsel) and Soula Kolakkidou (member of the board of directors of the Nicosia Municipal Authority and president of the sport committee) were present

The yearly awards
Top sailor of the year: Pavlos Kontides (Limassol Nautical Club)
Given to Pavlos’s father, doctor Panayiotis Kontides
Second top sailor of the year: Andreas Cariolou (Nicosia Sailing club)

Distinguished athletes
Onisiforos Neofytou (Famagusta Nautical club)
Nikolas Protopapas (Famagusta Nautical club)
Other awards
Haris Papazoglou ( Limassol N.C.)
Rafail Theoharous (Limassol N.C.)
Alexis Papazoglou(Limassol N.C.)
Elena Papazoglou (Limassol N.C.)
Georgia Kontantinou (Kerynia N.C.)
Anna Konstantinou (Kerynia N.C.)
Adamantios Diamantis(Limassol N.C.)
Nikiolas Lofiti(Limassol N.C.)
Louis Christodoulou (Limassol N.C.)
Orestis Germanos(Limassol N.C.)
Josef Herodotou( Limassol N.C.)
Panagiotis Iordanou (Limassol N.C.)
Kyriakos Karatsis (Famagusta N.C.)
Stavri Totou (Famagusta N.C.)
Panos Konstantinou (FamagustaN.C.)
Andreas Christodoulides (Famagusta N.C.)
Nikolas Kanaki (Limassol N.C.)
Natasa Lappa (LimassolN.C.)
Sotiris Fanari (Larnaka N.C.)
Anna Neofytou (FamagustaN.C)
Despina Makri (Famagusta N.C.)
Orestis Apostolides( Limassol N.C.)
Panos Lappas (Limassol N.C.)
Christina Stavrides (Limassol N.C.)
Special awards

Honorary award George Andreadis ISAF Vice president
Given to Totos Theodosiou CYCAF Honorary President
Top club with the top performance by the U13 sailors: Limassol Nautical Club
Youngest sailor: Feodor Zoubovski (Bega Figo) Born 19.8.2007
Post mortem recognition for the services in sport : Panikos Rimis (Larnaka Nautical Club),Panikos Nikolaou (Famagusta N.C.)
Off shore
1. Nikolas EpifaniouS/Y IRON FX (Famagusta N.C.)
2. Adonis Kalopetrides S/Y ALMIRA (Bega Figo)
3. Andreas Tavelis S/Y Maveric (Limassol Nautical club)

Off Shore clubs
1. Limassol Nautical club
2. Famagusta Sailing club, Famagusta Sailing club Bega Figo
3. St Rafael Yacht club
Nautical clubs
1.Limassol Nautical club
2. Famagusta Nautical club
3. Kyrenia Nautical club

Translate »